Floods: 16 States To Get FG Relief Fund

by EnireTvNews
0 comment

The Federal Government, on Thursday, in Abuja, revealed that it was compiling reports from the 36 states nationwide as part of efforts to determine the extent of damage from the flooding of 2022, and to provide relief for affected persons.

This came as 16 states submitted their reports revealing the flood-driven damages and losses, possible suggestions for palliatives to be given to the victims, causes of floods in each state and possible measures to mitigate flooding in subsequent years.

The Jigawa State Governor, Mohammed Abubakar, disclosed this to State House correspondents shortly after the valedictory National Executive Council meeting presided over by Vice President Yemi Osinbajo at the Council Chambers of the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

From reports made available to the Presidency by the relevant Federal Government Ministries, Department and Agencies, flooding was reported in Lagos, Yobe, Borno, Taraba, Adamawa, Edo, Delta, Kogi, Niger, Plateau, Benue, Ebonyi, Anambra, Bauchi, Gombe, Kano, Jigawa, Zamfara, Kebbi, Sokoto, Imo, Abia states and the Federal Capital Territory, affecting 508,721 people between January and August 2022 alone.

In October 2022, the President, Major General Muhammadu Buhari (retd.), had directed the Minister of Water Resources, Suleiman Adamu, to lead and coordinate with the Ministries of Environment and Transportation and state governments to develop a Comprehensive Plan of Action for Preventing Flood Disaster nationwide in 90 days.

The directive followed an earlier order to federal agencies dealing with rescue and disaster management to offer all needed assistance to Bayelsa state where 700,000 persons were reportedly displaced in about 300 communities submerged in water due to rains causing floods.

Speaking on Thursday, the Jigawa State governor, who chairs the Ad-Hoc Committee on flooding, said 16 States had submitted reports showing the extent of damage occasioned by nationwide flooding during the last rainy season.

They include: Osun, Enugu, Akwa Ibom, Kogi, Delta, Kwara, Nasarawa, Adamawa, Gombe, Taraba, Yobe, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Kebbi and Sokoto States.

On the extent of damage in the 16 states, Abubakar said, “104,000 households have been affected, 172,000 people displaced, 201 died and 108 injured.

“We have seen 81,000 farmers affected, 173,000 hectares affected, 174,000 completely destroyed, 201 partially destroyed and we have lost 52,000 livestock from the 16 states.

“We have also seen 171 schools affected, 199 roads affected covering 835km with 61 bridges washed away. We also see 792 medical institutions from small dispensaries, primary health care centres, and secondary health care centres to tertiary. So this is the summary of what we collect for the 16 states.”

He said 20 states would submit their reports next week.

On the relief, Abubakar noted that “We will compile and then submit to our NEC chairman, who will now discuss with the Presidential Committee on flooding so that the two documents will be synchronised and relief will be sent to the victims. It takes little time because of the election for the response. But I believe the federal government is really eager to support those victims of flooding.”

You may also like

Leave a Comment

About Us

Eniretvnews is a Nigerian media platform with a vision of promoting cultural practices, entertainment, news value, and effective storyline.
Our focus is to contribute our quota to the development of the society, community, and country through news, brands, personality, and music promotion.

© 2022 EnireTvNews, All rights reserved. Designed and Developed by Techevangelistseo9